Cut Tourism VAT

Cut tourism VAT, boost british jobs


Wednesday, 12 February 2014

MPs speaking for Tourism VAT cut shows strong support across parties

Twenty-five MPs spoke in yesterday’s positive debate in the House of Commons – below is a list of their names, parties and constituencies.

There were 12 backbench speakers from England: Andrew Bingham (High Peak) (Con); Nick de Bois (Enfield North) (Con); Geoffrey Cox (Torridge and West Devon) (Con); Tim Farron (Westmorland and Lonsdale) (Lib Dem); Mark Field (Cities of London and Westminster) (Con); George Howarth (Knowsley) (Lab); Stephen Lloyd (Eastbourne) (Lib Dem); Caroline Lucas (Brighton, Pavilion) (Green); Tessa Munt (Wells) (Lib Dem); Laurence Robertson (Tewkesbury) (Con); Adrian Sanders (Torbay) (Lib Dem); and Dr Sarah Wollaston (Totnes) (Con).

There were 4 from Northern Ireland: Nigel Dodds (Belfast North) (DUP); Margaret Ritchie (South Down) (SDLP); Jim Shannon (Strangford) (DUP); and Sammy Wilson (East Antrim) (DUP).

There were 4 from Wales: Simon Hart (Carmarthen West and South Pembrokeshire) (Con); Albert Owen (Ynys Môn) (Lab); Mark Williams (Ceredigion) (Lib Dem); and Roger Williams (Brecon & Radnorshire) (Lib Dem).

And there were 3 from Scotland: Alan Reid (Argyll and Bute) (Lib Dem); Lindsay Roy (Glenrothes) (Lab); and Mike Weir (Angus) (SNP).

The front bench speakers were Shabana Mahmood (Birmingham, Ladywood) (Lab), who expressed a desire for dialogue with the tourist industry, but would not commit to a VAT cut if Labour win in 2015, and the Exchequer Secretary, David Gauke (SW Hertfordshire), who followed the Treasury line that they don’t accept the projections, even though they come from their own economic model.

If you would like to view the debate, please go to

Website Design: